Middle School Core Novel Selection

Public Input

The OUESD Educational Services Department, in collaboration with the middle school Language Arts teachers, has concluded a four-month process of selecting Core Novels for sixth, seventh, and eighth-grade classes at O’Hara Park and Delta Vista Middle Schools. Click here to view proposed core novels by grade level.  Prior to presenting the selections to the OUESD School Board for approval, they will be available for community viewing, comment, and feedback from Wednesday, March 13 until Friday, March 29. Core novels adopted by the School Board will be purchased during the summer and will be ready for classroom use by the start of the 2024-25 school year. 

This process will be repeated at the beginning of the 2024-25 school year for OUESD elementary schools.  

To provide feedback, please click HERE.  


Common Core

California Common Core State Standards (CCSS) 

Educational standards describe what students should know and be able to do in each subject in each grade.  In California, the State Board of Education decides on the standards for all students, from kindergarten through high school.

Since 2010, a number of states across the nation have adopted the same standards for English and math. These standards are called the Common Core State Standards (CCSS). Having the same standards helps all students get a good education, even if they change schools or move to a different state. Teachers, parents, and education experts designed the standards to prepare students for success in college and the workplace.

The California Department of Education helps schools make sure that all students are meeting the standards. Below you will find information about the standards and the CCSS-related activities taking place in California


Each content area has gathered implementation tools and a list of recommended websites to further enhance teaching and learning.